Project and Program Updates

PRODUCTIVITY APPLICATIONS

The idea behind our project and program update application is very simple: Allowing you and your team a channel of communication, uninterrupted by other noise, for providing daily, weekly, monthly or quarterly updates to one another and to have it all collated in a central location that's easy to find again in the future.

How do I create a new channel?

  1. Navigate to the Project and Program Updates App
  2. From the main table, you'll see an option to Create new channel
  3. Enter a channel name and a description (optional)
  4. Hit save, and you're all set
  5. Now go enjoy your brand new channel and invite your team members to join you

How do I edit the name of an existing channel?

There are two ways for you to do this:

From the main app table:

  1. From the main app table, hover over the channel you wish to update
  2. Select Edit name and description
  3. Change the channel name to whatever you wish
  4. Hit save
  5. Your channel name has now been updated

From within a channel:

  1. Within each channel, you'll find the channel name in the navigation
  2. Click the name to enter the edit state
  3. Update the channel name
  4. Hit enter or press outside the editable area
  5. Your channel name has now been updated

How do I delete a channel?

You're only able to delete a channel if you're the creator of it or if you're a workspace super admin.

There are two ways to delete a channel:

From the main app table

  1. Hover over the channel you wish to delete
  2. You'll see options appearing on the right hand side of the row, choose more
  3. Select delete channel from the dropdown list
  4. Confirm your action
  5. Your channel has now been deleted.

From within a channel

  1. In the channel navigation, you'll see an option called more
  2. Select delete channel from the dropdown list
  3. Confirm your action
  4. Your channel has now been deleted.

When deleting a channel, all data is irretrievably lost for all channel members so please be sure that deleting (as opposed to archiving) is the right option.

How do I archive a channel?

You're only able to archive a channel if you're the creator of it or if you're a workspace super admin.

There are two ways to archive a channel:

From the main app table

  1. Hover over the channel you wish to archive
  2. You'll see options appearing on the right hand side of the row, choose more
  3. Select archive channel from the dropdown list
  4. Confirm your action
  5. Your channel has now been archived

From within a channel

  1. In the channel navigation, you'll see an option called more
  2. Select archive channel from the dropdown list
  3. Confirm your action
  4. Your channel has now been archived

You can unarchive a channel within 30 days of archiving it (after which it is irretrievably deleted) - see the next section for instructions on how to unarchive

How do I leave a channel?

If a channel's content is no longer relevant to you, you're free to leave it at any time.

There are two ways to leave a channel:

From the main app table

  1. Hover over the channel you wish to archive
  2. You'll see options appearing on the right hand side of the row, choose more
  3. Select leave channel from the dropdown list
  4. Confirm your action
  5. You have now left the channel

From within a channel

  1. In the channel navigation, you'll see an option called more
  2. Select leave channel from the dropdown list
  3. Confirm your action
  4. You have now left the channel

If the channel isn't private, you can join again at anytime

How do I search for updates within a channel?

  1. From the channel navigation, select search
  2. Type a keyword associated with the update or message you want to find
  3. If there are any matches, they will be shown below the search bar, click the relevant option
  4. You're taken to the message in the channel

How do I add a reaction to a post?

  1. Hover over a given update or message
  2. You'll see options appear at the right-hand side of the message
  3. Select add reaction
  4. Choose your emoji
  5. Your reaction is now shown directly underneath the message for everyone else in the channel to see

If there already is an existing reaction to a given message by another channel member, you can simply click the replicate the reaction for yourself. Hovering on the existing will similarly give you a small + from which you can add a quick-reaction

How do I edit a post?

  1. Hover over a given update or message
  2. You'll see options appear at the right-hand side of the message
  3. Select edit
  4. Your message is now editable, make your changes and hit update when done
  5. Your message has now been edited

Beware that other channel members are able to see when a post has been edited by the small (edited) indication next to the message. They will not be able to see your edit history/what you edited however.

How do I delete a message?

  1. Hover over a given update or message
  2. You'll see options appear at the right-hand side of the message
  3. Select delete
  4. Confirm your action
  5. Your message has now been deleted and cannot be retrieved

How do I attach a file or image to a post?

  1. In the text input field, you'll see a small file icon, press that
  2. Your local files are now displayed and you can choose any pdf, word, excel, png, jpg or powerpoint file and insert it
  3. Make sure it has finished uploading
  4. When you hit post message your file will be uploaded along with your message or update

How do I unarchive a channel?

  1. From the main app table, you'll see a more option at the very top
  2. Select archived items from the dropdown
  3. You're now in a table with all your archived items
  4. You can hover over the channel you wish to unarchive to see the option unarchive expand, select that
  5. Your channel has now been unarchived and is again to be found in the main table alongside your other channels
Did you find this page helpful?